In the state of Oklahoma, all bicyclists enjoy all the rights and are subject to the responsibilities in the State motor vehicles and traffic laws. If you are an e-bike rider, you don’t have to worry because electric bicycles are also given the same rights as traditional bicycles! There’s more to it than simple rights and responsibilities, here are the things you need to know about Oklahoma e-bike laws:
An electronic bike, or e-bike, is basically a bicycle that is integrated with an electronic system, composed of an electric motor, a battery, a sensor, and an electronic display. The motor is activated when the pedal assist feature is used, giving the rider a boost. An e-bike looks just like a regular bike and its parts function similarly.
The pedal assist feature, or ‘pedelec’, only activates when you push the pedals, giving you a boost so you can easily ride up the hills or cruise in the main streets. Other e-bikes have a throttle mode that functions similarly to that of a motorcycle or scooter. When you use the throttle, you won’t have to pedal to propel the bike forward.
The E-bike laws for the United States vary state by state. Oklahoma is one of 44 states that define an electric bicycle. According to HB1265, an electric assist bicycle or e-bike is a bicycle that has:
An e-bike should also meet the requirements of any of the following three classes:
Class 1 - the electric motor only gives assistance when the you are pedaling, stops providing assistance when the bike reaches 20 miles per hour, allowed on multi-use paths where traditional bikes are permitted
Class 2 - uses throttle mode so that the electric motor functions exclusively to propel the bike forward, stops providing assistance when the bike reaches 20 miles per hour, allowed on multi-use paths where traditional bikes are permitted
Class 3 - same functionality as a class 1 but the top assisted speed is now 28 miles per hour, required to have a speedometer, prohibited on bicycle paths or multi-use paths unless it is within or adjacent to the road
All classes of e-bikes can be prohibited or regulated by the local or state agency that has jurisdiction over the bicycle or multi-use path.
The general rule on using the three class-system for e-bikes is that no licensing or insurance is required. This applies to the State of Oklahoma so you don’t have to worry about license, registration, or insurance requirements.
There are no age requirements for e-bike operation but if the rider is under the age of 16, he/she is not allowed to carry a passenger.
Yes. Oklahoma state requires all riders below 18 years old to always wear a helmet when riding an e-bike.
All e-bikes must adhere to the manufacturing and equipment requirements set by the Consumer Product Safety Commission. E-bikes, along with regular bikes, must be equipped with front and rear lights and reflectors when being used at night. All bicycles are exempt from equipment requirements such as turn indicators and side lighting.
E-bikes are legal in the state of Oklahoma. Class 1 and 2 can be used on trails. Class 3 e-bikes are only allowed on streets.
As of July 2020, Oklahoma City is easing up its laws to allow class 1 and 2 e-bikes on its trails.
What is the proper way of riding e-bikes?
Here’s what you need to remember when riding your e-bike:
Yes, that is why it’s very important to check your city ordinances. For example, OKC implements a mandatory bike lane law, while Tulsa does not have one. There is also a headphone ban while biking in the streets in Oklahoma City. In Edmond, you can proceed through a defective red light after stopping. In Norman, all minors must wear a bike helmet.
Yes, regular bikers and e-bikers alike should remember that no person shall wilfully throw or drop anything at a moving vehicle. If anyone violates this law, a felony could be charged. If by any chance someone throws or drops something while you are riding, you must report that person to the police.
If you have been arrested for a misdemeanor violation of state traffic laws, you can only be released upon personal recognizance if you can prove your identity to the satisfaction of the arresting officer. You must also sign a written promise to show that you will appear as ordered. Because of this, you should always carry identification when riding.
Even though you don’t need to be licensed, you are still subject to arrest and detention if you violate traffic laws.
|State||Identity||Max speed||Max power||Helmet||Minimum age||Driver’s license|
|Oklahoma||Bicycles||28 miles per hour||750 watts||Below 18 yrs old||N/A||Not required|