Electric bicycles are recognized in North Carolina. However, it does not match federal standards because it does not use the three-tier classification system for e-bikes. As an e-bike rider, you should be aware of laws pertaining to the use of electric bikes. Here’s what you need to know about North Carolina e-bike laws:
In North Carolina, an electric assisted bicycle is defined as a bicycle that has:
The definition of e-bike in North Carolina is limited. It lacks the three-tier classification system that 26 states use. Usually, e-bikes would be categorized into three classes (1, 2 and 3) according to specific attributes of each type.
A class 1 electric bicycle is equipped with an electric motor that can only provide assistance to the rider when he/she is pedaling. This is also known as “pedal-assist'' or “pedelec”, which can be activated with a switch. This electric assistance stops when the bicycle reaches 20 miles per hour.
A class 2 electric bicycle is equipped with an electric motor that can propel the bicycle even without the rider’s pedaling.This type is also known as throttle mode, which works just like a motorcycle or scooter. To activate this, the rider has to click or shift the switch. The electric motor disengages when: the bike reaches 20 miles per hour, the brakes are applied, or the throttle switch is released.
A class 3 electric bicycle works similarly with the first one. The main difference is the speed limit at which the motor can be engaged - 28 miles per hour.
NOTE: These classes are not recognized in the legal e-bike definition in North Carolina.
Electric bicycles are considered vehicles, thus, riders have the same rights and responsibilities as motor vehicle drivers.
If your speed is less than the legal limit, you must position yourself on the most right-hand side of the road. If there are potential hazards that you must avoid, it’s alright to not follow this rule. You can also negate this rule if you are overtaking or preparing for a left turn. It is always recommended to travel on bicycle lanes.
Riding on sidewalks may or may not be permitted. It is very likely that sidewalk riding in city areas is prohibited. Check your local laws to be sure.
Here are things to remember when you’re riding your bike:
North Carolina does not require registration, license, and insurance requirements.
There are no minimum age requirements when riding an electric bicycle.
All e-bike operators under the age of 16 must wear a secure helmet. At night, an e-bike must have the following:
Trails rules vary significantly across North Carolina. In general, you can ride your e-bike on trails that allow both motorized and non-motorized activities. On the other hand, e-bikes are usually prohibited on trails that are designated for non-motorized activities. Always make sure to have your local laws checked to avoid violations.
For local trails, you may consult your local land management agency. For state parks, the North Carolina Division of Parks and Recreation allows e-bike riding on its trails because e-bikes are not considered fully motorized. For federal trails that are managed by the U.S. Forest Service, e-bikes have access.
North Carolina e-bike laws are comparable to South Carolina e-bike laws. Both define e-bikes in the same manner because they do not use the three-tier system. One notable difference is that higher-powered e-bikes fall under the moped or motorcycle category in South Carolina, while there are no such distinctions in the North.
The rapid growth of the e-bike community through the years has led a number of groups and organizations to work on easing laws and regulations dedicated to electric bicycles. The leading organization for this movement is PeopleForBikes. PeopleForBikes is known for making bicycling better for everyone in all 50 states.
As more states update their e-bike laws, it can be assumed that the rest would likely follow.
In case you are new to e-bikes, here’s some basic tips to maintain perfect condition:
You can remove dirt and grime off your electric bike by washing it using water from a low-pressure hose, a brush, or a bike-specific cleaning agent. When cleaning your electric bike, make sure to switch it off (and ensure it's not charging) before removing the battery to confirm that all connections are secure.
To clean the battery, remove it first and start cleaning it with a moist cloth. Use a dry brush to remove any remaining dirt from the contacts. Periodically clean and gently oil the battery contacts, but never use a high-pressure jet wash or high-pressure hose on the battery.
Ensure that you completely charge the battery and store it away from direct sunlight in a dry environment. Your battery can get more use by not leaving it fully charged or low for long periods.
If problems that can’t be solved alone persists, seek a bike shop or the manufacturer for assistance. When it comes to complicated fixes, it is recommended to have a professional doing it.