Christian Angelo 10-21-21
In the state of Missouri, the importance of public streets and the role they play is fully recognized. This is why bicycles and vehicles are subject to rules and responsibilities in order to ensure peace and safety for everyone. Recently, an e-bike law was passed; so there are now clearer sets of rules to follow for e-bike enthusiasts.
Every cyclist must be responsible on the road. Especially when you have an e-bike that goes faster than normal bikes. In this article, you’ll learn about e-bike laws in Missouri, along with other bike guidelines.
In the most basic sense, an e-bike is a bicycle with integrated electrical components. An electric bicycle is known for its electrical assist, which provides an additional boost to the rider. An e-bike makes cycling easier, faster, and more fun. Depending on the class of e-bike, the assist can be activated by using the pedal assist feature or throttle mode.
In Missouri, electric bicycle operators have the same rights and responsibilities as operators of standard bicycles. There are states that continue to categorize e-bikes under motorcycles or motorized vehicles. This means that there are clearer guidelines for e-bikes in Missouri.
Thanks to the new legislation, e-bikes now enjoy a distinguished legal definition. The three-tier classification system that is used by more than 20 states is also used in Missouri. It is also in line with federal definitions for e-bikes. Here are the 3 classes of e-bike that are acknowledged in Missouri:
Class 1: uses pedal assist where a rider has to pedal in order to activate the electrical assist, provided assistance maxes out at 20 miles per hour, motor wattage does not exceed 750W.
Class 2: uses throttle mode which allows a rider to activate the electrical assist without having to pedal, provided assistance maxes out at 20 miles per hour, motor wattage does not exceed 750W.
Class 3: uses pedal assist where a rider has to pedal in order to activate the electrical assist, provided assistance maxes out at 28 miles per hour, motor wattage does not exceed 750W, operators must be at least 16 years of age.
Here are the most significant laws in the new e-bike legislation:
You can ride your e-bike on roads and highways that permit the use of bicycles. Generally, e-bikes are treated the same way as regular bicycles when it comes to road laws and regulations.
For multi-use trails, e-bikes are permitted unless the owner of the trail legally prohibits the use of e-bikes in such trails. For natural surface trails, the trail owner has the authority to allow or prohibit the use of e-bikes. Examples of surface trails include single-track trails and mountain bike trails.
An e-bike or an e-bike operator is not subject to laws regarding vehicle registration, certification, driver’s license, and financial responsibility.
Starting August 28, 2021, a permanent label must be affixed to each e-bike. This label must indicate the classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage of the e-bike. It should be printed in Arial font in at least nine-point type.
If an e-bike’s motor-powered speed capability is modified, the e-bike label must be updated to show accurate information.
Every ebike must comply with the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission’s equipment and manufacturing requirements for bicycles.
An e-bike must be fully operable in a manner that the electric motor disengages or ceases to function at the moment the rider stops pedaling, or the brakes are applied.
After legal notice and a public hearing, a local authority, state agency, or municipality, may regulate or prohibit the use of class 1, 2, and 3 e-bikes in a multi-use path, trail, road, or pathway under its own jurisdiction for safety reasons.
There are certain provisions for class 3 e-bikes. The minimum age requirement for operating a class 3 e-bike is 16. A passenger of a class 3 e-bike can be under 16 years old. All class 3 e-bikes must be equipped with a speedometer that displays speed in miles per hour.
All e-bike operators and passengers are required to wear a helmet.
The enactment of SB176 is a milestone for the state of Missouri. It now joins more than 40 states that define electric bicycles in some manner. Because it now uses the three-tier classification, the state is now part of more than 20 states that use it as well. Missouri also joins 25 other states that apply helmet requirements for e-bike riders.
The growing popularity of electric bikes means that e-bike laws must be updated to ensure public order and safety. Currently, more and more states are applying similar laws that would help clear confusion among e-bike enthusiasts. It is important to distinguish e-bikes from motorcycles or motorized vehicles because they are different.
Indeed, the law is important, but following it is necessary. As an individual, you must be aware of the law in order to promote safety on the road and avoid potential legal fees for violations. Be sure to check your local laws from time-to-time so that you’ll be in the know for any changes.
The state of Missouri has recently adopted a new e-bike legislation that is in line with federal standards. The state recognizes the three-tier classification system for e-bikes. A class 1 e-bike is a pedal assist bike. A class 2 is a throttle mode. Both classes go up to 20 miles per hour on assist. The third class uses pedal assist and can go up to 28 miles per hour.
E-bikes are generally treated like regular bicycles. As an e-bike rider, you enjoy the same rights and are subject to the same responsibilities as regular cyclists do. There are no vehicle registration, insurance, and license requirements for e-bikes and e-bike operators. In order to operate a class 3 e-bike, you must be at least 16 years old. All riders must wear a helmet.
E-bike laws are important because they ensure public safety. Make sure to follow the law at all times. Enjoy your e-bike responsibly!