Heading to Louisiana trails or maybe having a quick tour around the local city with your motorized bicycle? Before your ride your e-bike, make sure you know about the e-bike rules and regulations. Because every e-bike laws are different from state to state. The Alaskan E-bike laws are different from Louisiana.
That said, it's important for you to become familiar with some of your local e-bike laws. This article will lay out some of the important Louisiana ebike laws you need to know as well as some tips and other related topics in regard to the rules and regulations of an electric bicycle.
Generally, e-bikes share the same bicycle laws as bicycles. Meaning that e-bikes and normal bikes share the same roadways, a bicycle lane, and bike paths. The only restriction is passing on a private road or restricted government lands.
Like most states in the United States, the state of Louisiana also adapts three-tiered e-bike classes which are:
Class 1 - A motor-driven bicycle that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
Class 2 - bicycle equipped with a throttle-actuated motor that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
Class 3 - Class 3 e-bikes equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 28 mph.
Related topic: What Is An Ebike?
The state of Louisiana requires all riders of electric bicycles to be at least 15 years old and above.
Fortunately in Louisiana, there's no need to apply for a special license, permit, or insurance which is only for motor vehicles.
According to the local state's law, Any 18 years old and below are required to wear a helmet when riding a bicycle whether a passenger or an operator.
E-bike riders that are below 18 years old who don't want to wear helmets must have health insurance covered instead with medical benefits of having $10,000 minimum and must present proof when any law enforcement requests it.
"The issuance of a citation for failure to wear a required helmet shall not be prima facie evidence of negligence. The comparative negligence statutes of Louisiana shall apply in these cases as in all other cases of negligence." According to La Rev Stat § 32:199
Generally, e-bike riders and normal bicycle riders share the same bike lanes, roadways, and bicycle paths. Also, e-bikes must observe traffic laws the same as normal bikes. The only e-bikes that are not allowed are on lands that are private and have a restriction that prohibits e-bike entry into the property.
That said, even within the local state, there are some lands that are prohibited, excluding national parks or state parks. Visit your local park's website if there are rules and regulations about riding an e-bike.
Louisiana requires that bicyclists ride as close as practicable to the right-hand edge of the roadway except under any of the following circumstances:
"Louisiana requires that the operator of a motor vehicle, when overtaking and passing a bicycle proceeding in the same direction on the roadway, shall exercise due care while the motor vehicle is passing the bicycle and shall leave a safe distance between the motor vehicle and the bicycle of not less than three feet and shall maintain such clearance until safely past the overtaken bicycle.
An operator of a motor vehicle may pass a bicycle traveling in the same direction in a no-passing zone only when it is safe to do so." As per La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §32:76.1.
In order to ensure your safety when riding in the city street or a bike path, it's important that you know some basic hand signals which are the following:
All of our e-bike rules and regulations are based on each local state's e-bike laws. In addition, our information and details regarding these e-bike laws are not permanent and are subject to change especially when there are updates and missed out details.
We highly encourage that you check with local authorities or check the website of your State, County, City, and other agencies.
See more information about bike laws in every state with our article: Ebike Regulations State Specific